Jun 01, 2023  
2016-2017 South University Academic Catalog Version I 
2016-2017 South University Academic Catalog Version I [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

South University, Montgomery

5355 Vaughn Road
Montgomery, AL 36116-1120
Phone: 334-395-8800
Toll-Free: 866-629-2962
Fax: 334-395-8859


South University’s campus in Montgomery, AL, is located on the rapidly growing east side of the state’s capital city. Montgomery is a hub of government, banking, and law, as well as one of the state’s cultural and entertainment centers. Montgomery is situated in the middle of the southeastern states, less than a three-hour drive from Atlanta, Birmingham, and the Gulf of Mexico.

The Montgomery campus is located in two buildings on a 3.75 acre campus. The facilities include nursing, computer and health professions labs, comfortably outfitted classrooms, a student center, and a bookstore as well as faculty and administrative offices. A new facility housing the nursing and health science classrooms and labs opened in 2010.

The Montgomery campus library provides scholarly resources and information services to support the curriculum and programs of the University, foster academic and professional research by the University community, and facilitate critical thinking and life-long learning by students. The library provides comfortable seating and study space for students, wireless capabilities for laptop network connectivity, and reference and interlibrary loan services. The open-stack book collection provides access to reference and circulating materials, and program-specific resources to support class assignments. An online library portal with access to more than 60 databases in all disciplines is available electronically 24/7 on and off campus to all authorized students and faculty. More than 50,000 digital textbooks, video clips, images and full-text dissertations are also included in the library offerings.

Note: This South University campus is authorized under Federal law to enroll non-immigrant alien students.

Degree Programs

To view a complete listing of program requirements, please click here .

Doctoral Degrees

Doctor of Ministry * (D.Min.)  

Master’s Degrees

Business Administration (MBA)  

Criminal Justice (MS)  

Healthcare Administration (MBA)  

Master of Science in Information Systems (MS)  

Leadership (MS)  

Master of Science in Nursing (Specialization in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner) (MSN)**  

Master of Science in Nursing (Specialization in Family Nurse Practitioner) (MSN)**  

RN to Master of Science in Nursing (BSN/MSN**)  , with the following specializations:

  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Family Nurse Practitioner

Public Administration (MPA)  

Bachelor’s Degrees

Business Administration (BBA)  

Criminal Justice (BS)  

Healthcare Management (BS)  

Information Technology (BS)  

Legal Studies (BS)  

Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)  

RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)  

Psychology (BA)  

Public Health (BS)  

Associate Degrees

Medical Assisting (AS)  

Paralegal Studies (AS)  

Physical Therapist Assistant (AS)  

**NOTE: Minnesota residents are not eligible to enroll in the online programs for the Doctor of Nursing Practice, Post Graduate Certificates in Nursing, the Master of Science in Nursing or the RN to Master of Science in Nursing.

Return to: Campuses